Drexel R-IV School Board of Education April 21, 2025 Board Meeting – Media Summary

The following is a Media Summary of agenda items discussed and/or acted on by the Drexel R-IV School Board of Education during the April, 2025 meeting.

Board Member Oath of Office & Elections

The Secretary of the Board, Sara Borden administered the oath of office to Tim Eastwood and Callie LaBeth. Mr. Eastwood and Mrs. LaBeth were elected to a three-term term.

The Board of Education reelected Jennifer Thomas to serve as President of the Board, Tim Eastwood as Vice President, and Andy Gorsage as Treasurer. Sara Borden was elected to serve as the Secretary of the Board of Education. Jennifer Thomas was appointed to serve as the district MSBA delegate.

Stadium Area Renovation

The Board of Education approved a TIPS quote from McConnell & Associates for the stadium plaza renovation project. Construction will begin the first week of June with completion projected by July 15th.

Board Policy – Staff Short Term Leave Policy

The Board was presented with a proposed revision to the short-term leave policy. This was the for review and the first reading.

The Board also held the first reading of the MSBA A policies recommendations.

Group Medical Insurance

The Board of Education voted to not renew the district's contract with MEUHP. The Board of Education selected the Bukaty Company as the district's medical insurance broker. The Board of Education voted to select Blue Cross/Blue Shield as the district insurance carrier as recommended and negotiated by the Bukaty Company.

Personnel Resignations/Retirements

The Board of Education accepted the retirement notice of Royalyn Rolfs Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS) teacher at the conclusion of the 2024-2025 school year.

The Board also accepted the resignation Darrah Munter as School Nurse at the conclusion of the 2024-2025 school year.

Personnel Employment

The Board voted to offer teaching contracts for the 2025-2026 to Kyle Littrell as a physical education /Special Education teacher, and Rhonda Huber as an elementary language arts and Title teacher.

The Board voted to offer work agreements to the following non-certified staff members:

Food Service: Britanni Nichols – Director

Lacey Wheeler – Food Service Lunch Accounts Coordinator Amy Faulkner – Cook

District Office: Sara Borden - Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent Sheila Eastwood – Business Manager

K-12 Building Secretary – Wanda Wilkins

Special Education Paraprofessional: Tracy Vunovich, Kim Jones, Laura Royster, Trisha Good & Kacey Muhal

Title 1 Paraprofessional: Reagan Thomas

Extra Duty Assignments

The Board of Education approved many extra duty assignments. Several assignments have not been filled. Attached are the extra duty assignments that have been offered for the 2025-2026 school year.

Respectfully, Gary French